Voss & Marte Sworn Into New Term 
(HACKENSACK, NJ)- On Wednesday, January 3rd, the Bergen County Board of Commissioners held their annual Reorganization Meeting where they elected an all-female leadership team, with Germaine M. Ortiz (D – Emerson) as Chairwoman, Mary J. Amoroso (D – Mahwah) as Vice Chairwoman, and Dr. Joan M. Voss (D – Fort Lee) as Chair Pro Tempore. This marks the second time in Bergen County's history that the board is led entirely by women. 

"Our reorganization ceremony marks not just a change in leadership, but a reaffirmation of our dedication to public service. I am incredibly grateful for the opportunity to serve the Board as Chairwoman this year," said Commissioner Chairwoman Germaine M. Ortiz. "I am enthusiastic about advocating for Bergen County families and building on our successful collaborations with our exceptional technical schools, Bergen Community College, and all 70 of our municipalities that benefit from our shared services program. Together, we will continue creating opportunities that shape a brighter future for our students and community." 

Dr. Voss was also sworn into her fifth term on the Board of Commissioners by US District Court Judge Julien X. Neals, alongside her running mate Rafael Marte (D – Bergenfield) who was sworn into his first full term by Congressman Josh Gottheimer. 

"Continuing to represent our residents in Bergen County is a profound honor," said Commissioner Chair Pro Tempore Dr. Joan M. Voss. "Serving my community as a Commissioner is a privilege, and I take pride in my commitment to continuously enhance the quality of life for the residents of Bergen County. The Board has accomplished wonderful things over the years, but we are looking forward to building on that success by continuing to help deliver important services to our residents."

"I am sincerely humbled by the overwhelming love and devotion I felt from the residents of Bergen County," expressed Commissioner Rafael Marte. "I extend my heartfelt gratitude for your unwavering support. The past year has been a remarkable journey, and I deeply appreciate the collaborative work environment fostered by my colleagues, which has contributed to our success across various avenues. I eagerly anticipate achieving more milestones together in the coming year."

Distinguished guests New Jersey Governor Phil Murphy and Bergen County Executive Jim Tedesco both participated in the ceremony by offering their remarks and commendations to the Board for their accomplishments in 2023. The Board was also joined by State Senators Joe Lagana and Gordon Johnson, Assemblyman Chris Tully, Sheriff Anthony Cureton, Clerk John Hogan, Prosecutor Mark Musella, and Bergen Community College President Eric Freidman. 

Photo Caption: Bergen County Clerk John Hogan certifies election results 

Comments (0)

Paramus Post