(HACKENSACK, NJ) – In celebration of 2022 National Preservation Month in May, Bergen County Executive Jim Tedesco and the Board of County Commissioners are pleased to announce the winners of the 2022 Bergen County Historic Preservation Awards.

The winners will be honored at the 2022 Bergen County Historic Preservation Awards ceremony on Thursday, May 5th at 7 pm. The ceremony is invitation only and will be held at Valley Brook County Golf Course, 15 Rivervale Rd, River Vale, NJ. The 2022 Historic Preservation Awards are hosted by the Bergen County Department of Parks, Division of Cultural and Historic Affairs and the Historic Preservation Advisory Board.

The Bergen County Historic Preservation Awards were created in 1982 to encourage the preservation, restoration, and interpretation of Bergen County’s irreplaceable historic sites. Since 1982, over 320 awards have been presented to individuals, students, organizations, and businesses in honor of outstanding historic preservation achievements.

Nine 2022 Historic Preservation Awards will be given in the following categories:

Historic Preservation Project

James Rose Center

(For the restoration of the James Rose landscape at EarthCam HQ in Upper Saddle River.)

Matthew Corso

(For the restoration of his private residence at 112 Clairmont Avenue, Westwood, originally constructed in 1923.)

Borough of Rutherford; Sandeep Sikka, AIA of Preservation Studio; Marco Federico, John Carr, and Kate Cowing of Materials Conservation Center; Joanna S. Pietruszewski and Zbigniew Pietruszewski of Aegis Restauro; Neglia Engineering

(For the restoration of the town’s World War I Monument, originally designed in 1920.)

Historic Preservation Leadership

Jennifer Rothschild

(In recognition of her efforts as Vice-Chair of the Closter Historic Preservation Commission and for her commitment to the preservation of Closter and Bergen County’s historic sites.)

History Publication

Jack Goudsward

(For the publication “The History of Nelson Airport”)

Tenafly Historic Preservation Commission

(For the publication “A Tour with Elizabeth Cady Stanton & Susan B. Anthony in Tenafly, NJ”.)

History Leadership

Paulette DeKorte Ramsey

(In recognition of resident and founder of the Franklin Lakes Historical Society for her efforts to educate the community on the preservation of Franklin Lakes history.)

George M. Carter

(In recognition of resident and former Historian and Archivist for the Borough of Oradell for his dedication to the maintenance and presentation of Oradell history.)

History Education

Waldwick Community Alliance

(For the curation of the rotating exhibits at the historic Waldwick Railroad Station.)

The Bergen County Division of Cultural & Historic Affairs is dedicated to supporting the arts, history, and historic preservation. The DCHA plays a leading role in building a flourishing cultural environment that benefits and distinguishes Bergen County as a New Jersey cultural destination, offering programs, services, and resources in all three areas.

  • Currently 0.00/5
Rating: 0.00/5 (0 votes cast)

Share It!

Be the first to comment