National Council of Jewish Women Bergen County Section Honors Local High School Seniors as Leaders of Tomorrow

TEANECK, NJ (June 9, 2023)- For more than 15 years, National Council of Jewish Women Bergen County Section (NCJW BCS) has awarded endowed scholarships to young Jewish women who are graduating from Bergen County public high schools and plan to attend a four-year college or university.

Applicants must have earned excellent grades, have participated in school and /or community extracurricular activities in a meaningful way, and identify with Jewish values. 

On June 8th, at a recent NCJW BCS board meeting, eight girls were each awarded a $1,000 scholarship to honor their outstanding achievements thus far and potential for leadership in the future. 

“These vibrant individuals embody true NCJW BCS values and we are proud to have young women like them represent our organization and community as they continue their education,” said Hilary Eth, scholarship committee member. “We look forward to seeing what these remarkable young women will accomplish and we wish them all the best at their future colleges and universities.”

Scholarship winners as follows: 

Abigail Kushman of Tenafly High School received the Podorefsky Family Scholarship and will study at Cornell University.  

Emma Cohen from Ramsey High School was awarded the Bach Scholarship and will attend the University of Maryland.  

Marjorie G. Aerenson Memorial Scholarships were awarded to Rachel Sherman of Teaneck High School who is bound for Northeastern University and Gabrielle Swaine who is graduating from Bergen Tech High School and will attend the University of Delaware. 

Dylan Cochin of Pascack Hills High School received the Marilyn Taffet Memorial Scholarship and will attend Cornell University.  

Julie Salman, from Indian Hills High School is the recipient of the Eth Family Scholarship and will be attending Northeastern University. 

Sivan Yoskowitz from Tenafly High School received a scholarship from the Kabakow Family Scholarship Fund to attend Rutgers University. 

National Council of Jewish Women awarded this year’s scholarship to Sienna Lipke of Fair Lawn High School who will attend The College of New Jersey. 

The Scholarship Committee members were Nan Matlick and Evalyn Brownstein, Co-Chairs, Bea Podorefsky, Peggy Kabakow, Liz Warms, Phyllis Grossman Kaplan, Henrietta Wolfeiler, Hilary Eth and Grace Fuld. 

NCJW BCS encourages local rising seniors to apply for next year's scholarship. To learn more or join the National Council of Jewish Women Bergen County Section please visit

About National Council of Jewish Women Bergen County Section:

Celebrating its 100th anniversary, National Council of Jewish Women Bergen County Section (NCJW BCS) is a grassroots organization of volunteers and advocates who turn progressive ideals into action. Inspired by Jewish values, NCJW BCS strives for social justice by improving the quality of life for women, children, and families and by safeguarding individual rights and freedoms.


  • Currently 0.00/5
Rating: 0.00/5 (0 votes cast)

Share It!

Be the first to comment